New Partnership Supports New Musicians



One of the founding principles of the Southwell Music Festival is to support and encourage the emergence of new performing talent.  An exciting new partnership with the enterprising charity Awards for Young Musicians (AYM) will enable us to extend that principle.


southwell musicOn Sunday 22nd January at 7.30pm three exceptionally talented young musicians from the Midlands – violinist Hing Tim Fung, cellist Katharine Ley, and pianist Annie McChrystal, who are all supported by AYM’s annual Awards Programme – will share a concert at Southwell Minster with leading Festival performers violinist Jamie Campbell (the Festival’s Associate Artistic Director), cellist Nathaniel Boyd and pianist Libby Burgess.  The Festival artists will perform the celebrated Mendelssohn Piano Trio in D Minor.


Tickets (£12) are available from the Southwell Cathedral Shop or from Guy Turner on 01636 816393 or by emailing . People aged 18 and under are admitted free.


During the day the young musicians will work with our Festival musicians on their contribution to the evening concert and this will include a public masterclass in the State Chamber (2-4pm) to which admission is free (no tickets required).   They will be coached on their solo pieces and also in ensemble playing (they will never have played together before) in music by Frank Bridge for piano trio.  Their solo repertoire will be by Beethoven, Mozart and Rachmaninov.


Artistic Director Marcus Farnsworth said: “This is a wonderful addition to our annual programme and I am very excited and proud that the Festival should be associated with the vital work of Awards for Young Musicians.”


Awards for Young Musicians believes that all musically talented young people should have the opportunity to develop their talent: AYM helps children and young people with exceptional potential from lower income backgrounds achieve their musical goals. Proceeds from the concert support AYM’s work in the Midlands.  Information on AYM is available here; the flyer for 22nd January can be downloaded here.