Brave Horizons

Image courtesy of the Roerich Museum, New York

Image courtesy of the Roerich Museum, New York

Four distinct and evocative sound worlds are conjured up in this compelling programme of 20th-century chamber music masterpieces – opening with the neo-classical high spirits of Stravinsky’s Octet and closing with a rare opportunity to hear his most famous score – The Rite of Spring – performed by four hands at one piano. In between we are drawn into the elegiac world of Barber’s Dover Beach, and the celebrated British composer Thomas Adès invites us to experience seven vanished or vanishing idylls – from a gondolier in lugubrious voice to the Kingdom of Night.

Igor Stravinsky Octet for Wind Instruments
Samuel Barber Dover Beach
Thomas Adès Arcadiana
Igor Stravinsky The Rite of Spring (piano duet)

Greg Skidmore, baritone
James Baillieu, Libby Burgess, piano
Southwell Festival Chamber Soloists

Tickets £22
Concession: 18 yrs and under £10