2018 Festival Sponsors Geoffrey Bond and Sir John Peace chat with soloist Sheku Kanneh-Mason. Photo: Dick Makin Imaging

Many people and organisations have helped to make Southwell Music Festival 2019 possible. In particular, the organisers thank the Dean and Cathedral Chapter, Rector Chori and staff at Southwell Minster and the Archbishop’s Palace, the staff of Sacrista Prebend, and all sponsors, Friends, volunteers and donors. The organisers are particularly grateful to all who are providing accommodation for visiting performers in their own homes. The Festival, in common with most classical music events, cannot be financed with box office income alone. We are therefore indebted to everyone whose magnificent support has enabled us to plan with confidence.

Financial and in-kind supporters

The 2019 Festival is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

FESTIVAL BENEFACTORS: Geoffrey Bond, Russ and Linda Carr,
Sir John Peace

CONCERT SPONSORS: Gerald Berwick, Doug and Vicki Black,
Michael and Jenny Davidson, Susan Dawson, Jenny Farr, Hockerwood
Park, the Leadley Family, Professor Margaret McCaskill, and donors
who wish to remain anonymous

ARTIST SPONSORS: Chris Ball (pianist James Baillieu), Professor
Stephen and Mrs Sarah Bamforth (violist Ruth Nelson), Geoffrey Bond
(cellist Adi Tal), Graeme and Thelma Clark (soprano Ruth Provost
and bass William Townend), Lynn Dorling (mezzo soprano Lucy
Schaufer), Peter and Liz Garrood (cellist Karel Bredenhorst), Arderne
Gillies (pianist James Cheung), Charles and Vanessa Lawrence (horn
player Fabian van de Geest), Alison and Edmund Salter (baritone
Greg Skidmore), Susan Sheppard (cellist Sarah McMahon) and
Diana Temperley (violinist Peter Liang). The appearances of Judy
Brown (mezzo), Simon Cox (trumpet), Amy Harman (bassoon), Carris
Jones (mezzo), William Balkwill (tenor) and Marcus Farnsworth are
supported by private sponsors


(singers) and Lady Warner (strings)

CHARITABLE BODIES: The Nicholas Boas Charitable Trust, The
Charles Littlewood Hill Trust (2018 donation), The Du Plessis Family


Corporate support

Batch Tea Company, Blue Monkey Brewery, Buster Marquees, The
Cathedral Shop, Ceramics in Southwell, Correct Hearing, Dick Makin
Imaging, Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham, Emerald Marquees,
Geostream Solutions, The HopBarn, The Minster School and its Music
Department, Mr and Mrs Fine Wine, Ben Nolan, The Old Theatre Deli,
RWB Accountants (Nottingham), Southwell Library, Southwell Methodist
Church, Southwell Minster Choir Association, Starkey’s Fruit (Southwell),

Special individuals

Particular thanks to the hardworking members of the Festival Committee,
who give of their time freely. Our dedicated Front of House team are
fantastic – huge thanks to you all. Also to Adam Barry Jones, Robert
Beckett, Thelma Clark, Josh Lane, Charlie Leggatt, Kam Maan, Jenny
Mellors and members of the Minster Flower Guild, Professor John Morehen,
Margaret Noble, John Robinson, John Sheppard, the Southwell Minster
Guild of Stewards, Revd Canon Tony Tucker, Nick Turner and Southwell &
District Lions Club, and all who volunteer as refreshment servers, drivers,
furniture movers, Fringe stewards and Sacrista Prebend stewards.

Marketing, Media & PR support

BBC Radio 3 In Tune, BBC Radio Nottingham, The Bramley, Newark
Advertiser, Newark & Sherwood District Council, Nottingham Post,
Southwell Leaves, Life Magazines, Southwell Town Council

Founder Donors

Mr Geoffrey C Bond OBE DL LLD FSA, Mr and Mrs David Francis,
Hockerwood Eggs Ltd, Mr and Mrs John Hodgson, Mr Joseph Keaney and
Ms Alison McLay, Mr and Mrs Patrick Lynn (senior), Mr and Mrs Geoffrey
Taylor, Ms Carol Venn, Lady Warner, and other anonymous donors